5 Things I Used to Do in My 20s That I’m So Over Now in My Late 20s

Trivena GV
3 min readMar 22, 2024

--

Photo by Fer Nando on Unsplash

Entering your late 20s often comes with a flurry of reflections on the past decade — moments of growth, mistakes, and valuable lessons learned. As I journeyed through my early 20s, I engaged in habits that seemed right at the time but eventually proved detrimental to my well-being and personal growth. Here are five habits I used to swear by in my early 20s but ultimately abandoned for a more fulfilling life in my late 20s:

  1. Letting Go of Toxic Relationships: In my early 20s, I invested significant time and energy into relationships that only brought me stress and heartache. Whether it was a boyfriend who cheated or friends who were unreliable, I allowed these toxic connections to consume me. However, as I approached my late 20s, I learned the invaluable lesson that holding onto negativity from past relationships only hinders personal growth. I shifted my focus to self-love and surrounded myself with people who genuinely cared for me. Letting go of toxic relationships freed me to find someone who truly cherishes and respects me.
  2. Prioritizing Family Time: During my early 20s, I often neglected spending quality time with my family in pursuit of personal endeavors and social activities. However, as I matured, I realized the profound importance of family bonds. Returning home and reconnecting with my parents and siblings became a priority. I discovered that the warmth of family gatherings and heartfelt conversations provided a sense of belonging and rejuvenation that I had been missing.
  3. Taking Ownership of Mistakes: In my youth, I was quick to blame others for my misfortunes and failures. It was easier to point fingers than to accept responsibility for my actions. Yet, as I transitioned into my late 20s, I embraced a new perspective. I recognized that personal growth stems from acknowledging and learning from mistakes. Instead of assigning blame, I took ownership of my decisions and sought opportunities for self-improvement. This shift in mindset empowered me to navigate challenges with resilience and maturity.
  4. Embracing Humility Over Ego: In my early 20s, I often engaged in heated debates, adamant about proving my opinions right. However, as I matured, I realized the futility of ego-driven arguments. I learned to prioritize understanding over being right and to approach discussions with an open mind. Embracing humility allowed me to foster deeper connections with others and to appreciate diverse perspectives. Rather than asserting dominance, I valued collaborative problem-solving and mutual respect.
  5. Listening to My Body: In my younger years, I disregarded the signals my body sent me, often pushing through physical and emotional discomfort. However, as I reached my late 20s, I recognized the importance of self-care and mindfulness. I learned to listen to my body’s cues and honor its needs. Whether it was recognizing stress-induced tension or heeding intuitive warnings, I prioritized self-awareness and well-being. By nurturing a harmonious relationship between mind and body, I cultivated a sense of inner peace and balance.

As I bid farewell to my 20s, I reflect on the transformative journey that led me to abandon these outdated habits. Through self-discovery and growth, I embraced healthier perspectives and habits that have enriched my life in countless ways. While the path to personal development may be challenging, the rewards of self-awareness, resilience, and fulfillment are truly priceless.

--

--

Trivena GV

Vinyasabyvena.com | Yoga Teacher | Practice Stoic in daily life | Varies in nature and art of life | There is no one-size-fits all to live your best life